Orphans and Widows

“Religion that god our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans
and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”
//James 1:27

tumblr_nkcgmf7R2O1rbcubso3_540

I think a lot of times we don’t think we are doing ministry. I mean, we’re not in Africa holding orphaned babies or visiting widows at their homes. Most of the time if we aren’t doing ministry that looks like ministry to other people, we don’t really believe we are doing anything significant for the Kingdom because it isn’t obvious.
Now let me present an idea to you; it’s an idea that I had while driving to work and it flipped this whole verse upside down for me. What if orphan means outside the family of God? That means your co-worker, your neighbor, or your dad. Every single person that does not call God Father is an orphan. What if widow means that they have lost the love of their life, or they have never met him? Jesus is our groom; he is the one who romances us into salvation. What if loving orphans and widows simply means, “Love your neighbor as yourself”? What if we don’t’ have to go to Africa if God truly isn’t calling us there? What if we stopped putting more importance on certain people groups and remember that Jesus desires every person to be saved. He desires your circle of influence to know the good news that Jesus has saved them.
I have been oversees and I’m not saying you should not go to the literal orphans and widows because they are also our neighbor; I just want to challenge you to stop romanticizing people groups. Every single person needs to know Jesus and that includes people in America, which includes your family and my family. Every person I met in Africa or Thailand or Europe had the same exact need and desire as my unsaved co-worker. I think there is a stigma that all people in America have heard the gospel and I’d like to say that is wrong. There are so many people here that have never heard about Jesus and what he has done for them. Please, please, pray and think about what I’m saying. Loving people around you is so much harder than loving someone overseas that you don’t know or have no connection to. I can tell you from experience that doing missions overseas is easier than loving your unsaved cousin who is heated towards the gospel. Going overseas provides you the option to escape. You have the option to share the gospel and leave to come back to your comfortable home. Preaching the gospel to your family at Thanksgiving gives you no option to escape, you have to live life with them.

tumblr_nale28XXcp1qzz08jo5_540
Also understand that I am not trying to discourage overseas missions because as you can tell from this post I have done overseas missions and I have seen great benefits from it. I support multiple overseas organizations and so many of my friends have desires and callings to go and stay. I am just trying to challenge thinking and prompt a better vision for our nation and our church.
So many of my friends have been burned by their local church and I’m not just saying they were offended by what the church said. I’m saying they have been seriously manipulated and painfully embarrassed by them. I want Christ followers to understand that just because you are not overseas does not mean you do not have a mission here. It does not mean you are excused from the ministry that is right in front of you- to love the orphaned heart and widowed souls that are in your work place and your home or your row at church.
This has been on my heart for many days now and I have finally found the words to write it down. I hope you see my heart in these words, I hope you see that I just want to grow into a better Christ follower and I’d like to invite you on that journey with me. I hope you join me.

tumblr_nq84diraMK1thgspno1_540

Leave a Reply

