Grace in the midst of lies.

VFC
property of VFC church

During worship today at church we sang “Good, Good Father”, this song is most commonly known for making me bawl my eyes out.  It’s so simple but the truths in it sink deep down into my being.  They sink down and they rip out the lies I believe.

You’re a good good father
It’s who you are, It’s who you are
Its who you are
And I’m loved by you
It’s who I am, It’s who I am
It’s who I am

Because you are perfect in all of you ways
You are perfect in all of your ways
You are perfect in all of your way to us

Oh it’s love so undeniable

I, I can hardly think as you call me
Deeper still, as you call me
Deeper still, as you call me
Deeper still, into love love love

You’re a good good father
It’s who you are, It’s who you are
Its who you are
And I’m loved by you
It’s who I am, It’s who I am
It’s who I am

Because you are perfect in all of you ways
You are perfect in all of your ways
You are perfect in all of your way to us

The night before as Trevor and I were praying before we went to sleep I realized that I hadn’t really recognized God all day.  I felt shameful and broken.  “Lord, thank you for the grace you give us when you don’t even cross our minds throughout the day.” After I prayed that I could feel the lies creeping in.  “You are a horrible Christian.  How do you even call yourself that without feeling ridiculous?” Then, something happened, my heart stirred and I knew truth.

“If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children,
how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”
-Matthew 7:11

property of VFC church
property of VFC church

My own dad doesn’t get mad at me if I don’t communicate with him every single day.  I’m sure he wishes I did because he loves to talk to me, but does he hate me because I forgot to call him? No he doesn’t.  I think I do this with more than just simple things with God.  I am convinced if I do one thing wrong, or make one mistake, grace does not flow for me.  I have disappointed God and now I have to earn my good standing back. That doesn’t happen with anyone in my life, so why would that happen with God?  God knows my heart, he knows my desire for him and for his word. Yes, I should be striving to be in communion with God every single moment, but you know what? I’m human and God knows that.  He made me- and he has grace for me every single moment I mess up.  I asked for forgiveness that night and I still believed that I needed to earn back trust.  That is SUCH a lie- and a lie the enemy uses with everything.  He is ready to pounce on you any moment you trip, any moment you allow yourself to see your sin, he’s ready to tell you how bad you really are.  Most of the time we hear his voice, yelling at us to believe him.  If for a moment we would be silent and be still and try to listen for our whisper we would hear the grace filled voice of our savior.  The one who said “it is finished.” The one who says “you are forgiven and loved.”  He speaks grace and truth together.

“The marker of those who understand the gospel of Jesus Christ is that, when they stumble and fall, when they screw up, they run to God and not from him, because they clearly understand that their acceptance before God is not predicated upon their behavior but on the righteous life of Jesus Christ and his sacrificial death.”
-Matt Chandler, The Explicit Gospel

property of VFC church
property of VFC church

So, when I sang those words this morning my heart resonated with those truths.  I realized that no matter what, I serve a good, good Father and who I am is loved.  I am nothing more than loved and accepted by God.  The enemy can come and try to convince me otherwise, but I will always come back to the truth that is Jesus.  The truth that sets me free.

“For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore,
and do not submit again to the yoke of slavery.”
-Galatians 5:1

Leave a Reply

