The light shines.

“The light shines in the darkness,
and the darkness has not overcome it.”
//John 1:5

 light3

I had a whole different blog written out. It was full of hurt and the lies I have believing and yes, some of that will spill out onto this page but I’m starting over. I’m starting over because the light who is Jesus himself shines in the darkness and guess what? The darkness flees, it cannot overcome it, and it cannot overcome the Christ, the God-man who defeated it forever.
For a second (which has been a couple months) I have been living like the darkness had a lot of power, like the light wasn’t enough to help, to free me.

I’m not quite sure how to put into words what exactly has been happening inside of me but it has been bloody. The enemy has been attacking me for so long I almost gave up. Every moment was a moment of weakness. I was never good enough. Every single thing I did was just another opportunity for him to tell me I wasn’t worth anything. He was trying to pick me off. He wanted me to become so apathetic I stopped fighting. That is ultimately the enemy’s goal. Anyone that is doing anything for the glorification of Jesus he will try to pick off. He will try to make you believe anything so you become so inverted and consumed with your own hurt that you forget about the goal.
I forgot about the goal. I was licking my wounds and feeling sorry for myself because I was living like I wasn’t worth anything.

light4

Last Sunday at church we started a new series about what kind of story you want to tell. We were asked what kind of story we wanted our life to be telling. The kind of life you live when you believe the lies isn’t a life and it wasn’t the story that I wanted to be telling.  I want my story to be an adventure filled with courageous deeds and bold statements. I want my story to ask hard questions and to challenge the ideas of culture. To be in that kind of story, the kind that comforts and moves and changes, you have to be secure and confidant in who the writer is. Who is the writer? The writer is the same one who beautifully and awesomely created this world. The same writer who told the ancient couple Abraham, and Sarah that they would birth Isaac and that Abraham would be the father of many nations. He is the same writer who called little tiny David to defeat the monstrous goliath.   The bible is the most exciting adventure, and Jesus was the most courageous man. I want my life to look like that. How do I make that happen? I trust God, the one who created me, who knitted, molded, and breathed me into existence.

 “Every day God invites us on the same kind of adventure.
It’s not a trip where He sends us a rigid itinerary, He simply invites us.
God asks what it is He’s made us to love, what it is that captures our attention,
what feeds that indescribable need of our souls to
experience the richness of the world He made.
And then, leaning over us,
He whispers, “Let’s go do that together.”
//Bob Goff, Love Does

light2
Our whole life is a battle and we have been warned of this, even given armor. (Eph 6:10-20) We should never be surprised, but ready when those attacks come. We are children of the great I AM. No story is complete without a little friction. We like to see the hero overcome obstacles; we want to see the hero win the battle. Are you the hero of your story? Are you going to fight for your story? Are you going be courageous and bold? Let’s live in the confidence of the light that cannot be overcome by the darkness.

Leave a Reply

