You can say no.

I’ve believed a lie for a very long time.
A lie that I was never aware was a lie until right now; until I started writing about something completely different did God reveal to me the Enemy’s trick.
I have always believed that in some circumstances I could not say no.
That my “no” was not strong enough.
That I could not control my feelings in *insert situation*.
My flesh is too weak to fight this.

Lies.

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.  Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.
Hebrews 4:15-18

Jesus was tempted in every single way.
He rebuked Satan every time.

And Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit, returned from the Jordan and was led by the Spirit in the wilderness for forty days, being tempted by the devil. And he ate nothing during those days. And when they were ended, he was hungry. The devil said to him, “If you are the Son of God, command this stone to become bread.” And Jesus answered him, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone.’”  And the devil took him up and showed him all the kingdoms of the world in a moment of time, and said to him, “To you I will give all this authority and their glory, for it has been delivered to me, and I give it to whom I will.  If you, then, will worship me, it will all be yours.”  And Jesus answered him, “It is written,

“‘You shall worship the Lord your God,
and him only shall you serve.’”

And he took him to Jerusalem and set him on the pinnacle of the temple and said to him, “If you are the Son of God, throw yourself down from here, for it is written,

“‘He will command his angels concerning you,
to guard you,’

and

“‘On their hands they will bear you up,
lest you strike your foot against a stone.’”

And Jesus answered him, “It is said, ‘You shall not put the Lord your God to the test.’” And when the devil had ended every temptation, he departed from him until an opportune time.

Luke 4:1-14

When Jesus left the earth to go back to be with our Father he told us we now hold the power and the authority of The Holy Spirit.

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.
John 14:12-14

If we have the authority to heal, and to cast out demons,
why don’t we have the same power and authority to tell Satan to get the hell away from us?
We do not have to be slaves to our sins any longer because that was the whole point of the cross, we no longer have to say yes to our sin, we can say no.

Not only can we say no, but we have a way out given to us by God himself;

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.
1 Corinthians 10:13

 

Satan has tricked me into thinking I had only certain authority; that my sin was bigger than the Spirit that lives inside of me.
Uh no.
Not anymore.

I have the same mind, same spirit, same seed as Jesus.  I am part of the royal family, I have been adopted in and I have been placed at the foot of my King.  I do not have to be ruled by my emotions, my sins, or my weaknesses.

I can say no and walk away.
You can to.

You do not have to be tied down to whatever sin Satan is telling you that you are chained to.
Because when Jesus said “it is finished”, he meant it.
He has called us to live an abundant life with Him,
not constantly living in shame of our sin because we are told we cannot say no.

I’m asking you to say no and to see what happens, to see the enemy run far away from you
because you just used the authority your Heavenly Father gave you.

I’m asking you to believe that God has clothed you in Righteousness and you no longer have to
believe anything other than that.
You are only a slave to righteousness now.

What then? Are we to sin because we are not under law but under grace? By no means! Do you not know that if you present yourselves to anyone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin, which leads to death, or of obedience, which leads to righteousness? But thanks be to God, that you who were once slaves of sin have become obedient from the heart to the standard of teaching to which you were committed, and, having been set free from sin, have become slaves of righteousness. I am speaking in human terms, because of your natural limitations. For just as you once presented your members as slaves to impurity and to lawlessness leading to more lawlessness, so now present your members as slaves to righteousness leading to sanctification.

For when you were slaves of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness. But what fruit were you getting at that time from the things of which you are now ashamed? For the end of those things is death. But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves of God, the fruit you get leads to sanctification and its end, eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 6:15-23 

We are free in righteousness.
We have been set apart for a holy calling.
You can say no.
Say no. 

One thought on “You can say no.

Leave a Reply

