The oak of righteousness

Image

 

Brisk air. 
Hot coffee. 
Fresh lungs.
Tired brain. 

Image

I come quiet before the big oak standing firm before me, knowing it has seen far more than I ever will. 
I know as I sit down on the fragile bench that my voice will not be heard. 
My head will release all that has been screaming inside and it will finally become still. 
My hands open as my heart realizes it has been set free, yet again. 
The stillness of the cool air and the smell of fresh earth reminds me of the strength of new life. 
Before I met the breath of the trees, and the cologne of the leaves, I never understood how people could worship through nature, until I met the eyes of birds and the sounds of glory.  I walk through endless bodies of trees and realize this is what it feels like to know the beauty of the father. 

 

Image

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor;
    he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim liberty to the captives,
    and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor,
    and the day of vengeance of our God;
    to comfort all who mourn;
to grant to those who mourn in Zion—
    to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
    the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit;
that they may be called oaks of righteousness,
    the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified
Isaiah 61:1-3

Image

 

I am the giant oak that allows his glory to be seen. 
I am seen and known by The Father and he sows the earth around me. 
He allows the cold air to strike my branches but never allows me to tip. 
My roots are strong and my core too wide. 
My leaves, and beauty may fall to the ground, but they always grow back. 
I am never left alone, I am Righteous and I am known. 

 

 

 

Who is He telling you, you are?

Leave a Reply

